[Nomic02] Proposal: Puissance

Dylan O'Donnell nomic02@wurb.com
Fri, 28 Mar 2003 17:50:06 +0000

Admiral Jota wrote:
> On Fri, 28 Mar 2003, Dylan O'Donnell wrote:
> >   That Most High, Mighty, and Puissant Prince [Psmith]
> Nay, provided I correctly understand the following:
> >   A player may also
> >   voluntarily abandon any Dark Gift they currently possess as an action.
> [...]
> > (Note that changing a gift by metamorphosis would now require
> > explicitly abandoning the old gift. This shouldn't be too much of a
> > problem, I don't think?)
> I think it would, since you're not allowed to take any actions before
> metamorphosizing, and abandoning the gift you intend to replace would now
> be an action. This would seem to require that you abandon your old gift a
> full turn before getting a new one, in *addition* to effectively losing
> the turn that you spend metamorphosizing. That seems not very nice.

Well spotted. A supplementary proposal, then, to remove one rule and
add one rule:

  Let's Play Gift-shuffle! [Psmith]

  Remove Rule 125.

  If the active player has not performed any actions on the current turn
  other than abandoning one or more Dark Gifts, he/she may obtain a Dark
  Gift by "metamorphosing". Metamorphosing is an action, and must
  involve posting a clear statement of which Dark Gift is being
  obtained. Once the active player has stated intent to metamorphose,
  he/she may take no other voluntary turn-dependent actions for the
  remainder of the current turn, except to end that turn or to abandon
  one or more Dark Gifts.

(Added both fore and aft for symmetry; I can't see any particular
reason to abandon after metamorphosis, but it seems lopsided to forbid

:  Dylan O'Donnell                     http://www.spod-central.org/~psmith/  :
: "A bold choice, sir!" breathes the kiltmaker excitedly. "No man would dare :
: bandy words with a tall, smouldering Scotsman in a coruscating kilt of the :
: Black Tiger."       -- Elizabeth Hawk's "Forever Always", by Iain Merrick  :